Bug 1102

Summary: Allow ScalableSurface.setSurfaceScale(..) of GLJPanel to happen in-between addNotify() and 1st display/initialization
Product: [JogAmp] Jogl Reporter: Sven Gothel <sgothel>
Component: coreAssignee: Sven Gothel <sgothel>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: enhancement CC: martin.pernollet, sgothel
Priority: ---    
Version: 2.3.0   
Hardware: All   
OS: all   
Type: --- SCM Refs:
a372a5db4e9c2d56545791a5a2233a5cdbd94523
Workaround: ---

Description Sven Gothel 2014-11-12 19:54:13 CET
Currently, GLCanvas and GLJPanel skip setSurfaceScale(..) if 
the AWT/Swing component or the drawable backend is not yet realized.

Implementation shall earmark and validate the requested pixel-scale,
so it can be used at realization (1st display, visibility).
Comment 1 Sven Gothel 2014-11-12 20:06:00 CET
(In reply to comment #0)
> Currently, GLCanvas and GLJPanel skip setSurfaceScale(..) if 
> the AWT/Swing component or the drawable backend is not yet realized.
This is only true for GLJPanel, i.e. after addNotify() and 1st display/realization.

> 
> Implementation shall earmark and validate the requested pixel-scale,
> so it can be used at realization (1st display, visibility).
Comment 2 Martin 2014-11-13 18:07:05 CET
In Jzy3d, I noticed the same behaviour for NewtCanvasAWT on MacOS 10.8.5 and 10.9.

We are using it as follow :
https://github.com/jzy3d/jzy3d-api/blob/master/jzy3d-api/src/awt/org/jzy3d/plot3d/rendering/canvas/CanvasNewtAwt.java

Details here : 
https://github.com/jzy3d/jzy3d-api/issues/44
Comment 3 Sven Gothel 2014-12-07 04:15:14 CET
a372a5db4e9c2d56545791a5a2233a5cdbd94523

    - Bug 1102: GLJPanel.setSurfaceScale(..)
      Allow setting non-initialized GLJPanel surface scale.
      TODO: More tests and probing before initialization.
Comment 4 Sven Gothel 2014-12-07 04:17:38 CET
(In reply to comment #2)
> In Jzy3d, I noticed the same behaviour for NewtCanvasAWT on MacOS 10.8.5 and
> 10.9.
> 
> We are using it as follow :
> https://github.com/jzy3d/jzy3d-api/blob/master/jzy3d-api/src/awt/org/jzy3d/
> plot3d/rendering/canvas/CanvasNewtAwt.java
> 
> Details here : 
> https://github.com/jzy3d/jzy3d-api/issues/44

IMHO this is a different issue.

Please copy info and file a new bug, thx.