Bug 596

Summary: Cannot compile Jinput
Product: Jinput Reporter: Sven Gothel <sgothel>
Component: coreAssignee: Julien Gouesse <gouessej>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: blocker CC: gouessej, sierraaquino
Priority: P1    
Version: 1   
Hardware: All   
OS: all   
Type: --- SCM Refs:
Workaround: ---
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 592    
Attachments: build log
missing JAR
missing JAR

Description Sven Gothel 2012-06-22 02:00:03 CEST
Created attachment 354 [details]
build log

On my GNU/Linux machine (ant 1.8.2, J2SE 1.6.*) I ran:
jinput> ant 2>&1 | tee ant.log

It failed, see attachment 1 [details] (ant.log) for details :

+++
compile:
    [javac] /usr/local/projects/JOGL/jinput/coreAPI/build.xml:13: warning: 'includeantruntime' was not set, defaulting to build.sysclasspath=last; set to false for repeatable builds
    [javac] Compiling 21 source files to /usr/local/projects/JOGL/jinput/coreAPI/classes
    [javac] /usr/local/projects/JOGL/jinput/coreAPI/src/java/net/java/games/input/DefaultControllerEnvironment.java:54: package net.java.games.util.plugins does not exist
    [javac] import net.java.games.util.plugins.*;
    [javac] ^
    [javac] /usr/local/projects/JOGL/jinput/coreAPI/src/java/net/java/games/input/DefaultControllerEnvironment.java:202: cannot find symbol
    [javac] symbol  : class Plugins
    [javac] location: class net.java.games.input.DefaultControllerEnvironment
    [javac]             Plugins plugins = new Plugins(file);
    [javac]             ^
    [javac] /usr/local/projects/JOGL/jinput/coreAPI/src/java/net/java/games/input/DefaultControllerEnvironment.java:202: cannot find symbol
    [javac] symbol  : class Plugins
    [javac] location: class net.java.games.input.DefaultControllerEnvironment
    [javac]             Plugins plugins = new Plugins(file);
    [javac]                                   ^
    [javac] 3 errors
+++
Comment 1 Sven Gothel 2012-06-22 02:01:18 CEST
sorry, I meant attachment 354 [details] - ofc.
Comment 2 Sven Gothel 2012-06-22 02:02:43 CEST
I like one of you (Julien, Sierra..) to fix this bug (assigned person)
and tell me how to fix. Thank you.

(I am offline tomorrow, back on Saturday)
Comment 3 Vianel Sierra Aquino 2012-06-22 02:09:43 CEST
(In reply to comment #2)
> I like one of you (Julien, Sierra..) to fix this bug (assigned person)
> and tell me how to fix. Thank you.
> 
> (I am offline tomorrow, back on Saturday)

I'll do it. But It will be on Monday.
Comment 4 Julien Gouesse 2012-06-22 10:22:25 CEST
(In reply to comment #2)
> I like one of you (Julien, Sierra..) to fix this bug (assigned person)
> and tell me how to fix. Thank you.
> 
> (I am offline tomorrow, back on Saturday)

I can find a few minutes to fix it now. I already know how to fix it, I just don't remember how. I saw this missing class in a GIT copy that Sierra mentioned once.
Comment 5 Julien Gouesse 2012-06-22 11:07:09 CEST
(In reply to comment #2)
> I like one of you (Julien, Sierra..) to fix this bug (assigned person)
> and tell me how to fix. Thank you.
> 
> (I am offline tomorrow, back on Saturday)

You need jutils.jar, it is mentioned here:
https://github.com/sgothel/jinput/blob/master/coreAPI/build.xml line 5:
<property name="utils" location="../lib/jutils.jar"/>

Its source code is here:
https://svn.java.net/svn/jutils~svn
Comment 6 Julien Gouesse 2012-06-22 11:08:25 CEST
Created attachment 355 [details]
missing JAR

Put it into /lib to compile JInput
Comment 7 Julien Gouesse 2012-06-22 11:13:11 CEST
Created attachment 356 [details]
missing JAR

Put this JAR into /lib, this one works whereas the previous one was broken.
Comment 8 Vianel Sierra Aquino 2012-06-22 22:01:27 CEST
I'm working on this bug right now.
Comment 9 Vianel Sierra Aquino 2012-06-25 20:12:22 CEST
This is the message I get. Which is actually different than Sven's.

C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput>ant
Buildfile: C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\build.xml

init:

dist:

init:

compile:
    [javac] C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\coreAPI\build.xml:13: warning:
'includeantruntime' was not set, defaulting to build.sysclasspath=last; set to f
alse for repeatable builds
     [copy] Copying 1 file to C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\coreAPI\build
\src\java\net\java\games\input
    [javac] C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\coreAPI\build.xml:29: warning:
'includeantruntime' was not set, defaulting to build.sysclasspath=last; set to f
alse for repeatable builds
    [javac] Compiling 1 source file to C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\core
API\classes
    [javac] warning: [options] bootstrap class path not set in conjunction with
-source 1.4
    [javac] 1 warning
     [echo] Build version class for 2.0.6 build 5

jar:
      [jar] Building jar: C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\coreAPI\bin\jinpu
t-core.jar

all:
     [echo] JInput has been built and jinput.jar is located in the bin directory
.

init:

compile:
    [javac] C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\plugins\linux\build.xml:15: war
ning: 'includeantruntime' was not set, defaulting to build.sysclasspath=last; se
t to false for repeatable builds

jar:

createJNIHeaders:
    [javah] Error: Class net.java.games.input.AbstractComponent could not be fou
nd.

BUILD FAILED
C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\build.xml:117: The following error occurred
 while executing this line:
C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\build.xml:75: The following error occurred
while executing this line:
C:\Users\Main\Pictures\jogamp\jinput\plugins\linux\build.xml:56: compilation fai
led

Total time: 2 seconds
Comment 10 Vianel Sierra Aquino 2012-06-25 20:50:28 CEST
Correction. My error is the same as Sven's.
Comment 11 Vianel Sierra Aquino 2012-06-25 21:00:17 CEST
Tip: putting jutils.jar inside jinput/lib/ resolves Sven's and my error.
Comment 12 Julien Gouesse 2012-06-25 21:01:56 CEST
(In reply to comment #11)
> Tip: putting jutils.jar inside jinput/lib/ resolves Sven's and my error.

That's what I said some days ago ;) Thanks for the feedback.
Comment 13 Sven Gothel 2012-06-25 21:28:15 CEST
Thank you Julien  for solving this and Sierra to confirm.
Will try to have a short Jinput review and test the build.

After Julien's comment 7, I already added jutils to our repos.